top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureArian Heidari

A reflection on the second semester of my senior year

At the beginning of the year, I had high hopes for the second semester of my senior year. The previous semester was plagued with some personal issue, so I was excited to have a fresh start to the year and all my classes. At the beginning of the year I had finally taken a sleep study to officially diagnose me with delayed sleep phase syndrome. Due to this, I was excited to finally start working on the appropriate methods to fix my sleep, and have no issues with coming late to school anymore. Throughout the year, I still experienced some of these late issues, but as the year progressed, I could see myself slowly getting a lot better with attendance, something that made me really proud. However, as well know, the year was cut short due to COVID-19, but luckily I have still been able to work on and improve my sleep at home!


Another important aspect of my second semester was my Capstone project. My group, WAXOFF, specialized in creating a device that could properly clean and disinfect one's earbuds. Throughout the year, we faced many problems and dilemma from the design, to the pricing, to the technology itself, but one of the major dilemmas we faced was regarding the intentions of WAXOFF. If the product ever became something, we needed to decide whether WAXOFF's intentions are for profit, or for the benefit of others. Both sides have their own pros and cons: on one side if we went for profit, we would be able to make gain much larger sums of money, but in turn we would stray away from our original goal. On the other side if we went for the benefit of others we would be able to truly fulfill our goal of sanitation to the max, but in turn wouldn't be able to make any money off of our idea. This was just one of the many dilemmas we faced through the year, but thankfully, we were able to reach our goal of a completed design. Sadly though, as mentioned before, COVID-19 caused the closing of school, and in turn cut our project short before we were able to reach the physical stages of creation.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A reflection on the challenges of the Capstone project

As I mentioned in the post before, COVID-19 cut our Capstone project short, but we luckily were still able to finish the final design stages of our device. To reach that point though, we went through

This School Year

In my senior year of high school, I get to send in my applications for the next step in my education. Applying for upper education is a stressful process, and the pressure is immense considering what

This Year's Engineering Class

In this school year, I will be taking the fourth year of the P.L.T.W. engineering program, thus completing the curriculum. This class year, we do a lot of interesting stuff, however the thing I am mos

bottom of page